Lavrov: Russia, Iranian, Turkish Foreign Ministers Agree on all Key Issues Regarding Syria

ANTALYA, Turkey- Foreign Ministers of Russia, Iran and Turkey Sergei Lavrov, Javad Zarif and Mevlut Cavusoglu at the talks in Antalya on Sunday have reached agreement on all the key issues, the Russian foreign minister told reporters after the meeting.

"We have gathered to discuss certain issues related to preparations for the summit of the three countries’ president, which is due in Sochi on November 22," Lavrov said. "The work was very useful, we have reached agreement on all the key issues," he added, according to Itar Tass.

 "We shall report to our presidents our views on how to move forwards, how to improve the process, which we call the Astana process and which should offer most favorable conditions to have the Geneva process at last gain some effective instruments to settle the tasks, outlined in the UN Security Council’s Resolution 2254," the Russian minister said.

Russian, Turkish, Iranian Chiefs of General Staff to meet prior to Nov 22 Summit

After talks with foreign ministers of Iran and Turkey, Lavrov said that before the summit of the three countries leaders on November 22 in Sochi, chiefs of Staff of Russia, Turkey and Iran will hold meeting to discuss details of the de-escalation zones in Syria.

"In preparations for the summit on November 22 in Sochi, the three countries’ Chiefs of General Staff will also have a meeting," he said.

According to Lavrov, the military of the three countries had been in contact on functioning of all the four de-escalation zones in Syria, and also continue working on organization of the fifth zone.

Earlier, the Russian president’s envoy on the Middle East and African countries, Deputy Foreign Minister Mikhail Bogdanov said the work on the fifth de-escalation zone continued in contacts with parties to the Astana process and with the U.S., but, he said, it is too early to speak about results.

The three de-escalation zones are in Syria’s southwest, in Eastern Ghouta (Damascus suburbs) and near Homs. The fourth zone covers the Idlib Province and parts of the neighboring Aleppo, Latakia and Hama. Starting from May 6, military activities and aircraft flights in the de-escalation zones were banned. The document’s term is six months, with an optional further extension.